Full Disclosure

Full Disclosure Book Cover Full Disclosure
Beverley McLachlin
Fiction
Simon & Schuster Canada
May 1, 2018
all
352

From the former Chief Justice of Canada comes a riveting thriller starring Jilly Truitt, a rising, young defense attorney faced with a case that hits close to home. A searing look at what justice means in the courts and on the streets, Full Disclosure is perfect for fans of Kathy Reichs, Louise Penny, and Lisa Scottoline. When everyone has something to hide, the truth is the only defense. There’s nothing Jilly Truitt likes more than winning a case, especially against her former mentor, prosecutor Cy Kenge. Jilly has baggage, the residue of a dark time in a series of foster homes, but that’s in the past. Now she’s building her own criminal defense firm and making a name for herself as a tough-as-nails lawyer willing to take risks in the courtroom. When the affluent and enigmatic Vincent Trussardi is accused of his wife Laura’s murder, Jilly agrees to defend him, despite predictions that the case is a sure loser and warnings from those close to her to stay away from the Trussardi family. Determined to prove everyone wrong, Jilly investigates Laura’s death, hoping to discover a shred of evidence that might give the jury a reasonable doubt. Instead, she is confronted by damning evidence and uncooperative witnesses at every turn. Someone isn’t telling the truth, but who? With her reputation and Vincent’s life on the line, Jilly tries to unravel the web of secrets surrounding Laura’s murder. As she digs deeper, she uncovers a startling revelation that will change not only the case, but her life forever. From the gritty streets of Vancouver to the fateful halls of justice, Full Disclosure is a razor-sharp thriller that pulses with authenticity and intrigue.

An excellent well written mystery.

I was pleased to be asked to review this book and even more pleased once I started it. The book is well written, easily read and captures your attention quickly and never lets up. It is clearly laid out in terms of the details and facts and the development of the characters. It never allows your attention to flag, keeps your interest and if you are like me, you are sorry to see it end.

This is an amazing accomplishment for a first time author. I liked not only the story and what she wrote, but how she wrote it. It was a pleasure to read.

There are lots of twists, turns and surprises but you never have to suspend disbelief. Everything is plausible and believable. I found her story to be somewhat reminiscent of Agatha Christie in that you cannot figure out the ending or foresee what is likely to happen next. You are engaged from the beginning and long for clarification, the solution to who did what, why and how it will be proven.

The author’s knowledge of law and the criminal justice system is authoritative and useful but never too complex or arcane.

I liked this book, enjoyed reading it and will look forward to more from this author.

Categories: Book Reviews

Leave a Reply